They’re Not Hobbies – They’re A Robust Post-Apocalyptic Skill Set!

Taking a few minutes to browse other blogs recently I was amused by the quip above and could totally identify.  I apologize that I don’t have handy  the blogger’s name and website as I would like to give credit where due.   I will search again when I have a few spare moments.  But isn’t this a wonderful way to view our various addictions to the creative arts and crafts?

As quilters, we will have much to contribute to keep us all warm in those dark days.  My newest and still developing skill, which I will contribute in those post-apocalyptic days when we no longer have textile mills, is SPINNING!  Learning to spin had been a latent desire for nearly half a century.  But whenever I would look at a wheel, or even a picture of a wheel, I would convince myself that it was way too complicated a machine to learn.  But spirit overcame soul and I bought a wheel.  Here I am with my new prized possession.

Now, a month and a half after first spinning half-inch rope, my mentor says I show promise!

So take courage, those of you wanting to try something, anything,  new but hanging back for fear of incompetence!!  My advice:  give it a try.  Take a look at the people who are doing or have done the very thing you long to do.  Change your definition of “success” or “competence” to eliminate the requirement of achieving perfection, and incorporate to license to TRY in your new definition of success.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “They’re Not Hobbies – They’re A Robust Post-Apocalyptic Skill Set!

  1. Pingback: They're Not Hobbies – They're A Robust Post-Apocalyptic Skill Set … | Craft Wiki, Ideas

  2. Pingback: They're Not Hobbies – They're A Robust Post-Apocalyptic Skill Set … | Craft Wiki, Ideas

Leave a Reply

