A Caterpillar’s Dream by Rose Lewis

One of the joys and rewards of being the itinerant marketing presence for the Curve Master Presser Foot is meeting quilters from around the world and learning from them.  Rose Lewis of Drouin, Victoria, Australia served as an “Angel” in one of the classes I taught at Australasian Quilt Convention at Melbourne, Australia in February 2010.  I saw her again at the Sydney Craft and Quilt show last month and got to see her prize-winning applique quilt in person.  Breathtaking!  Absolutely gorgeous!  It boggles my mind the amount of work that went into this masterpiece and I’m delighted she shared her photos so I could share it with you.  Of seeing me again at the Sydney show, Rose’s email said, “It was really nice to see a familiar face and catching up. Isn’t it an interesting life when we are able to say “A familiar face, when we both live on the other side of the world”. Thanks, Rose, for making the world a better place.

Of the quilt, Rose says, “This quilt took 2 years and 8 months to make. There is no pattern. I had a little idea in my head before I started and just let the quilt grow around me. I am very happy with the quilt.  It is everything I hoped it would be. It is all machine appliqued.  It was then trapuntoed and quilted on a domestic machine.  It took 3 months just to cut away the trapunto. The quilt has now been in 3 State shows and one Guild show and has won seven ribbons.”


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

