Sandy Chandler, Just Curves, and the Curve Master Presser Foot

All right…I’m holding my nose and jumping in to this blog thing.  (Did she jump or was she pushed?)

Why a blog from me?  Quilt Market 2009 in Houston convinced me that we folks interested in quilts and quilting are a community of people who are also interested in relationships and personal connection.  So with all humility (can they possibly be interested in what I have to say?) and with deepest gratitude to my friends who encourage me in so many ways, I will boldly go where I have never gone before, to blogland.

You see, in the late 1990’s I was unsuccessfully trying to make a Double Wedding Ring quilt. I figured out what the problem was (more about that in another posting) and came up with the idea for a Curve Master Presser Foot.  My jerry-rigged prototype proved my theory, and I went looking for someone with development expertise to bring my idea to reality.  Fast forward to Houston Quilt Market 2002 when the Curve Master was introduced to the quilt world and was instantly acclaimed by one quilting grande dame as “a giant leap forward for mankind.”

My life changed nearly overnight from working as a health-care insurance executive to being a quilt show circuit rider.  Yes, Mother, I ran away and joined the circus!  The first year 2003 found me at 45 quilt shows, all over the US plus England and France.  In years since, I’ve managed to pare it down to about 30 quilt shows a year while adding  Australia, Canada, Japan, Germany, Switzerland and Italy to my circus performance schedule at various times.  The result is an amazing cache of stories, photos, friendships, and musings on this multicultural bridge-building hobby and business of ours.

Now, after fretting for days and grappling with the computer work required to post a blog from this pre-television era kid, I am exhausted.  But the good kind of tired, you know, from having worked hard and accomplished something good to show for it.  So I will sign off for now with a promise of posts with photos from many shows to come.

I invite you to leave comments to encourage me!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Sandy Chandler, Just Curves, and the Curve Master Presser Foot

  1. Can’t wait to see the photos!!

  2. Thanks Catie! You are my first official commenter and I appreciate the encouragement. Went to your blog and love the theme! Beautiful flower photo. Sandy

  3. Elaine

    Great 1st video demo and I love the curvemaster foot. You have past me in the techno world – if I become brave, I may join you.

  4. Marilyn

    Love your video. I am a visual learner for sure. Show me and I can do it, tell me and I am lost!

  5. LeiLani

    I just received your Curve Master product for Christmas. I love curves and I am hoping this will solve a few problems for me. However, being a visual learner I was wondering if you have available a video that demenstrate attaching and actual sewing.???

    • Hi LeiLani, thanks for writing. Absolutely there are visuals. On the blog, go to Day 2 as a Blogger in November archives. There is “Take 1” of a demo, with a bit of mishap, but you’ll get the idea. Also at my website http://www.justcurves.biz there is a tutorial with closeup color photos. Best wishes. sandy

  6. Jeff

    I had the pleasure of meeting you and Jim at the Phoenix show/EXTRAVAGANZA January 29th and purchased, purchased, purchased!
    Are you planning any “Camp” style activities this year?
    Be well!

  7. Pingback: 2010 In Review « Sandy Chandler & Just Curves' Blog

Leave a Reply

